Spread Thin- Credit to the Single Mom

I picked up my daughter Wednesday as I always do, from her father. If you haven’t came to the conclusion, we are separated, and have been since our daughter was 6 months old. She is now a very aware 4 year old.
As we started in on our normal conversations of how her week was and how my week was. She blurted out “Mommy, my Dad and Mandy are getting married!” and then it dawned on me, its been over 3 years and I’m still a single mom.
Yes I’ve dated, no I haven’t found someone who makes sense in my hectic life.
I’m a mom who works full-time plus some, to barely scrape by. I skimp out on buying make-up or other things I’d really really like, so my daughter can go to a nice preschool. I try to get off work early so she doesn’t have to be there long. Then as I’m preparing dinner, working the rest of my day from home, and trying to entertain my four year old, it sinks in, I’m alone in this.
I think there are a LOT of mothers in my position. At least I hope I’m not the only one. Sometimes I start to think, am I being the best mom I can? Am I spreading myself too thin? But then I look at my daughter and when she smiles and says “Mommy, I love you!!” I realize even if I am spread to thin, I need to keep on going, even if I am alone, even if I am still a single mom.

One comment

  1. HandPArtistry · June 15, 2015

    We all have that moment. Actually, I know I have had that moment a few times at different stages in my daughters life. Just know that she knows that you do it for her and how much you love her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

